Reagún na Gaeltachta - Youth Presentations


Reagún na Gaeltachta marked the achievements of their youth’s sector at a pleasant function at The Mills Inn on 01.10.21 when finalists from eight under-age championship competitions (2020) received awards. Introduced by new Bol Chumann Honorary Secretary, Micheál O’Ceallacháin.

The recipients ranged from U12 boys and girls’ categories to U18. Mr. O’Ceallacháin thanked regional chair, Eamonn McSweeney, and youths’ officers, Mick Lucey, Teddy Bradley and Niall Murphy for their work in organising and running off the championships. Special guest was Association chairman, Michael Brennan, who made the presentations. Receiving awards were Girl’s U12, Kayla Healy, winner, Dorothy O’Brien, runner-up; U14, Abby Lynch, Lauren O’Brien; U16, Ailbhe O’Shea, Rosin O’Riordan; U18, Ailbhe O’Shea, Ciara Creedon: Boy’s U12, Evan O’Riordan, winner, David O’Leary, runner-up; U14, Liam Murphy, Cathal Creedon; U16, Ben Herlihy, James McCarthy; U18, Anthony Lynch, Jerry McSweeney. Ben Herlihy as U16 champion received the Michael Tom Bradley Cup presented by Thomas Bradley.

The late Michael was one of the Gaeltachts founding members, a former chairman and long time Executive delegate. Described by Eamonn McSweeney as one of bowling’s great characters his memory is preserved in the annual presentation for the U16 championship. County finalists in their respective U12 and U14 categories, Kayla Healy and Liam Murphy were joint Player of the Year winners.

Kayla Healy & Liam Murphy joint winners with officers

Kayla Healy & Liam Murphy joint winners

Ben Herlihy with Mickey Tom Bradley Cup & officers

Ben Herlihy with Mickey Tom Bradley Cup